History of ASUU Strike in Nigeria

History of ASUU Strike in Nigeria

Many controversies have been generated over the need for the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) to create another strategy or policy that will coerce the federal government to harken to their clamour without necessarily embarking on a long-term strike, thereby delaying students who already have their lives planned, even before their admission into higher learning.

While ASUU has continued to strike from 1999 to date, university students have started to see education as irrelevant in the Nigerian system, and they are beginning to ask if the government is interested in investing in education.

Researchers and public affairs analysts have revealed that one of the factors contributing to cybercrime and other forms of criminal activity is the lack of good leadership and quality of education, of which the ASUU strike is an instance. Thus, Nigerian youths are forced to sit at home for months waiting for the government to grant the request of ASSU.

History of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU)

In Nigeria, academic employees at universities are represented by the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), which was established in 1978. ASUU is a branch of the 1965- founded Nigerian Association of University Teachers (NAUT).

The University of Ibadan, University of Nigeria, NsukkaAhmadu Bello University, Zaria, University of Ife, and the University of Lagos were the only five universities that made up NAUT at the time. However, on May 30, 2021, Professor Victor Emmanuel Osodeke became the organization’s president.

ASUU was established to represent the interests of all academic staff in federal and state universities in Nigeria. Virtually all tertiary institutions in Nigeria, except private institutions, are under ASUU. However, conflicts between ASUU and the Federal Government of Nigeria frequently arise over issues like better working conditions and funding for universities in Nigeria.

Thus, it is evident that every time the two sides (ASUU and the Federal Government) get together to discuss their differences, it usually ends with the government promising the union that the demands will be satisfied shortly, which without warning strikes from ASUU, the government is often accused of not fulfilling their side of the bargain. This, however, often leads to constant strikes and delays on the part of the students.

Summarily, since its creation in 1978, the primary cause of ASUU’s strikes, virtually annually since 1999, has been the government’s failure to concede to the union’s demands.

List of Universities Under ASUU

According to research, some schools were mandated to join the association, including state universities. However, some of these universities collect exuberant tuition fees, but because they work within the scope of ASUU, they are mandated to follow the policies of the association.

Below are some of the universities (state and federal) that are members of the Academic Staff Union of Universities;

1.         Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University

2.         Ahmadu Bello University

3.         Air Force Institute Of Technology

4.         Bayero University

5.         Federal University Gashua

6.         Federal University Of Agriculture

7.         Federal University Of Petroleum Resources

8.         Federal University Of Technology

9.         Federal University Of Technology, Minna

10.      Federal University Of Technology, Owerri

11.      Federal University, Birnin

12.      Federal University, Dutse

13.      Federal University, Dutsin-ma

14.      Federal University, Gusau

15.      Federal University, Kashere

16.      Federal University, Lafia

17.      Federal University, Lokoja

18.      Federal University, Ndifu-alike

19.      Federal University, Otuoke

20.      Federal University, Oye-ekiti

21.      Federal University, Wukari

22.      Michael Okpara University Of Agricultural

23.      Modibbo Adama University Of Technology

24.      National Open University Of Nigeria

25.      Nigeria Police Academy Wudil

26.      Nigerian Army University Biu

27.      Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna

28.      Nigerian Maritime University

29.      Nnamdi Azikiwe University

30.      Obafemi Awolowo University

31.      University Of Abuja

32.      University Of Agriculture

33.      University Of Benin

34.      University Of Calabar

35.      University Of Health Technology

36.      University Of Ibadan

37.      University Of Ilorin

38.      University Of Jos

39.      University Of Lagos

40.      University Of Maiduguri

41.      University Of Nigeria

42.      University Of Port-Harcourt

43.      University Of Uyo

44.      Usumanu Danfodiyo University

45.      Abia State University (IMSU)

46.      Adamawa State University, Mubi

47.      Akwa Ibom State University Of Technology, Uyo

48.      Ambrose Alli University

49.      Anambra State University

50.      Bauchi State University

51.      Benue State University, Makurdi

52.      Delta State University, Abraka

53.      Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki

54.      Ignatus Ajuru University Of Education

55.      Imo State University

56.      Kaduna State University

57.      Kano State University Of Technology

58.      Kebbi State University Of Science And Technology

59.      Kogi State University

60.      Kwara State University, Malete

61.      Michael Okpara University Of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia State

62.      Nasarawa State University, Keffi

63.      Niger Delta University, Yenagoa

64.      Ondo State University Of Science And Technology

65.      Osun State University

66.      Sokoto State University

67.      Sule Lamido University

68.      Tai Solarin University Of Education

69.      Taraba State University

70.      University Of Ado Ekiti

71.      Yobe State University

the authoradmin

Leave a Reply